Around 70,000 international students each year choose to study in Austria. Currently it is estimated that there are around 167 Masters programmes taught in English at Austrian Higher Education Institutions.

There are 22 public universities in Austria including 5 medical universities that are run as completely separate institutions. In other countries these universities would ordinarily be a faculty within a wider university. There are also 11 private universities in Austria at this time.

Public universities are generally comprehensive and offer a wide range of choice in a variety of faculties. These include:

  • University of Vienna
  • Technical University of Vienna (TU Wien)
  • Vienna University of Economics & Business (WU)
  • Montanuniversitaet Leoben
  • Johannes Kepler Universitaet Linz
  • University of Graz
  • University of Innsbruck
  • University of Salzburg
  • Alpen-Adria Universitaet (Klagenfurt)

Masters degrees at Austrian universities comply with the Bologna Accord and take 4 semesters (two academic years) to complete and consist of 120 ECTS.

Private universities are usually more focused on a particular area of expertise, for example music and the performing arts, health sciences or business. Examples offering postgraduate education in English include:

  • Konservatorium Wien (Music)
  • MODUL University Vienna (Business and Management)
  • Sigmund Freud University (Psychotherapy)
  • Paracelsus Medical University Salzburg (Medicine)
  • Danube Private University Krems (Dentistry)

In addition to the research universities there are 19 Universities of Applied Sciences (Fachhochschulen or FH) in Austria. Not all of these offer education at the postgraduate level and those that do tend to specialize in professional and/or vocational areas such as business and finance, biosciences, engineering and healthcare. Opportunities taught entirely in English do exist but are limited. All degrees at Universities of Applied Sciences include mandatory internships. Masters at UAS can last either one or two years.

Additionally you can also find University Colleges of Teacher Training in Austria but these are unlikely to be of interest to international students.

You can search for courses available at Austrian universities at

Accreditation and Recognition

In 2012, the Agency for Quality Assurance and Accreditation Austria (AQ Austria) was established as an agency for quality assurance for Austrian higher education institutions on the basis of the Act on Quality Assurance in Higher Education.

This body is responsible for overseeing the quality of all Austrian universities (except University Colleges of Teacher Training). However, the main responsibility for quality assurance remains with the individual higher education institutions.

Public universities all operate their own accreditation and quality assurance. AQ Austria’s procedures do not replace those of the universities themselves. Private universities periodically have to apply for reaccreditation.